An Apostolic publication promoting balanced conservatism … "the finest of the wheat!"

Weep Not For Me


A Eulogy Verse for Rev. Murray E. Burr,
who went to be with the Lord on Saturday, October 8, 2005.

 

Could he but speak to us today
And let us all his burden see,
He’d surely rise and stand and say
These simple words, “Weep not for me.”

“My fight I’ve fought, my race I’ve run,
A crown of life now waits for me.
I say to each and every one,
Weep for yourselves; Weep not for me.”

“I’ve left this frame of dirt and dust
To be with God eternally.
Again I say, Weep if you must;
Weep for your sons; Weep not for me.”

“The myriad host of petty things,
The tepid mediocrity,
All these I gladly did not bring.
Therefore you must weep not for me.”

“I’ve slipped the surly bonds of earth –
No worldly prize could here hold me.
I’ve reaped the yield of my new birth.
I beg you, please, weep not for me.”

“If you must weep, weep for my wife,
And for my precious family.
Weep for those who still have a life
Left to live. But weep not for me.”

“I now am numbered with the Blessed
Who first will rise our Lord to see.
Through years of toil I’ve passed the test
Of time. So please, Weep not for me.”

“The torch of truth I held so high
Other hands now hold faithfully.
My course is done. So tell me why
Do you grieve so? Weep not for me.”

“Were it possible, in my state,
To weep and cry vehemently,
I would wail to think of the sad fate
You face. But please, weep not for me.”

“The fossil that once sadly moaned
Weeps no more by divine decree.
The change for which this body groaned
Is here at last. Weep not for me.”

“The ink is dry, the pen is still,
No pressing the typewriter key.
The sweet muse of poetry will
Find rest at last. Weep not for me.”

“The passing years have cost me dear
Though I looked for them longingly.
One by one my close friends came here;
I was lonely. Weep not for me.”

“But Jesus turning unto them said,
Daughters of Jerusalem,
weep not for me,
but weep for yourselves,
and for your children.”

–Luke 23:28

By Tim D. Cormier
Bristol, Tennessee
October 10, 2005

Personal note: Rev. M. E. Burr was my pastor (Faith Tabernacle, Port Arthur, Texas) for a few years when I was a child.
More than that, later in life he became my mentor and my friend.
He preached my ordination service in Shelbyville, Indiana, in October, 1995.
He was a prolific writer and widely know Bible teacher.

(C) Copyright held by Tim D. Cormier. This document may not be reproduced in whole or in part, except for personal use, without the express written permission of the author.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

